top of page
  • Malyari Tribe

Courtship: Fan Language

Updated: Jun 25, 2020

Starting the Malyari tribe, one topic I really wanted to research deeper was 19th century Hispanic Philippines. It was a period in Philippine history that has most influenced our traditions, culture and language and has stuck with us till today. During this time women wore baro’t saya, which was the national dress of the Philippines. Upper class women wore silk baro (garment to cover the shoulders) and saya (long skirt), while the lower-class women wore a white bark fibre version. Which ever version they wore, it must always be accompanied by an abaniko (hand held fan). During the 19th century Hispanic Philippines women communicated with body language as well as verbal communication. Each position and movement a woman did with her abaniko meant something different. It was a language more often used by women to suitors, it gave them the freedom to say what they were thinking without actually saying it. It was dubbed ‘fan language’ by historian Ambeth Ocampo.





Here are some translations: Action: covering half the face

Meaning: I would like you to follow me

My Interpretation: why don't we find somewhere a little more... private?


Action: counting the ribs of the folding fan

Meaning: I would like you to talk to me

My Interpretation: you're cute, why don't you come and shoot your shot?


Action: Holding the fan in the right hand

Meaning: I am willing to have a boyfriend

My Interpretation: I am single and ready to mingle


Action: Holding the fan in the left hand

Meaning: I am taken

My Interpretation: I already have a bf, try at your own risk


Action: Fanning vigorously

Meaning: I have deep feelings for you

My Interpretation: I legit swooning rn


Action: Fanning slowly

Meaning: I am not interested

My Interpretation: You are literally boring me to death


Action: Putting the fan aside

Meaning: I do not want to be wooed by you

My Interpretation: I was counting the ribs of my fan for the guy next to you, not you.


Action: Closing the fan abruptly

Meaning: I dislike you

My Interpretation: You're rude, this is a warning


Action: Hit closed fan against hand

Meaning: Leave me alone

My Interpretation: I'm finna about to strike you, back off


Action: Opening and closing the fan

Meaning: I am upset

My Interpretation: You pushed the joke too far, now I am sulking


Action: Open fan waving energetically on one side

Meaning: Do not come now, other people are around

My Interpretation: This is a forbidden love and my mum is gonna kill us if she catches us!


Action: Playing with the tassel or fringe

Meaning: I don't treasure of value you

My Interpretation: Literally wish I could get out of this convo right now


Action: Hiding the fan behind the back

Meaning: I don't want to talk to you

My Interpretation: Don't even try B


Action: Lending the fan while closed

Meaning: I trust and accept you

My Interpretation: You are the chosen one


Action: Lending the fan while fully opened

Meaning: I see you as a sibling or friend

My Interpretation: I like you but not in that way ... its the friend zone fan


So what do you think? Could you handle the fan language? Can you guess the silhouettes in the image above are saying?


Courtship month is coming to an end, but we still have a few more things to share!

So stay tuned on our ig @malyaritribe


Kommentarer


bottom of page